A bad sign (Part I)

Sign of a lack of urgency

Retail “sale” signs are designed to attract customers to a special deal right now, right? So if I see torn and tattered “sale” signs, I know that there is no special deal right now. A torn, tired or tattered “sale” sign says to me that there’s always a sale on and therefore I can get this deal anytime. I don’t need to bother right now; there’s no sense of urgency.

Or, that the merchant doesn’t care enough to remove a sign once the sale is over; and if the merchant doesn’t care enough to remove a “sale” sign, I don’t have any confidence that the merchant cares about his business, his product, or getting my business for that matter. I steer clear.

ExpressWear sign \

As articulated in my previous post, Broken windows/dirty windows, “broken windows” don’t necessarily have to be “windows.” They can also be signs like these on Milwaukee Avenue.

Elegant sign \

Milwaukee Avenue businesses need to take a good look at what they are advertising. Is it truly a sale?

Or do the signs signify a bad sign for business?

Leave a Reply

