Community Book Exchange: Logan Square Branch

Walking by the southeast corner of Logan and Kedzie Boulevards, I was again reminded of one of the things I love about this neighborhood: the Community Book Exchange: Logan Square Branch (though I don’t know of any additional branches yet [Correction:  there is also a Wicker Park Branch]).

If you haven’t seen it, it’s a Chicago Reader newspaper box (mis?)- appropriated and converted by Logan Square resident Ryan Duggan to a free book exchange serving readers in the community since 2006. Don’t worry, the Reader thought enough of it to feature a story on “The Littlest Library” shortly after the box surfaced in its current incarnation.

Have books you no longer want? Place them in the box. Looking for a good read? Go peruse the library shelves (all two of them). My recent perusal uncovered the classic Moby Dick by Herman Melville, Ray Bradbury’s science fiction The Martian Chronicles, a fitting title (if you grasp the irony) in Ruined by Reading by Lynne Sharon Schwartz, and a quirky but neighborhood appropriate title, Just Because I’m Latin Doesn’t Mean I Mambo by Juan Roberto Job.

The origins of the video “store” next door are more mysterious, but it serves a similar purpose. Have videos or DVDs you no longer want? Place them in the box. Looking for a movie escape? Go peruse the shelf (just the one here).

Thanks neighbors!



Fall diversions in Logan Square:

OhNo!Doom’s latest show opening: “We Need Each Other,” on Saturday,
October 11, from 6:00 p.m. to
10:00 p.m. at OhNo!Doom gallery, 2955 W. Lyndale Street; show continues through November 11.


mini dutch gallery‘s
show closing: “Leftovers,” on Sunday,
October 12, from 11:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
at mini dutch, another apartment gallery,
3111 W. Diversey Avenue.

One Response to Community Book Exchange: Logan Square Branch

  1. ann arky says:

    I frequently stop by here to drop off books I no longer want, and pick up a few as well! Such a great resource for the community, and I wish there were more like it. The Wicker Park branch has been a disappointment for me – my trips there have yielded nothing. Box was empty both times,and I really hope that was because they go so quick, and not that people don’t utilize it.

    ann: I do the same: leave one, take one. Sometimes I’m disappointed too, but because it’s in a convenient and frequented spot in the neighborhood, I know it could be a delight in a couple of days! ~ Lynn

Leave a Reply

